October FairyLoot: Villainous

SAM_2500.JPG

October has come and gone, and we're fast approaching the end of 2017! I have feelings about that. Time is passing us much too quickly! But with every passing month, that also means that I have new book boxes to show off! It's absolutely no surprise that I love subscription boxes because they feel like gifts arriving straight to my front door. The October Fairyloot box was stuffed full of amazing goodies! The theme was Villainous (perfect for October, amirite?) and it did not disappoint. Read on for a full unboxing! Note: All prices are listed in USD. I received no compensation for this review and all opinions are my own.

The Language of Thorns, by Leigh Bardugo - $14.96

This is an exclusive edition of the book that you can only find wit Fairyloot. It does not come with a dust jacket. Instead, the cover is printed onto the naked book and with red foil instead of the bronze foil on the original dust jacket! The interior content is all the same.

The Language of Thorns Prints

This is more of a promotional item, so it's difficult to attach a dollar value to them, but aren't they lovely? They're double-sided prints of the illustrations featured in The Language of Thorns.

Death Eater Enamel Pin, House of Wonderland - $7.85

Dare I say that this pin of the likeness of fearsome Death Eaters is almost... cute? Haha. I'm not one for wearing enamel pins, so I may give this to one of my Harry Potter-obsessed friends. It's a great quality item!

Coaster, Evie Seo - EST. $5

Evie Seo's designs never disappoint, and this villainous coaster is stunning. I've found myself accumulating so many coasters since I started purchasing book subscription boxes, but this is a handy functional item. I can use them all over the apartment and at work too.

Pocket Mirror, Little Inkling Designs - EST $3.50

Ok, if I'm honest, I don't use compact mirrors ever. I have a couple from other book boxes that are just laying in a corner somewhere. The lettering is beautiful and the quote is from The Young Elites by Marie Lu. But it's just not an entirely functional item for me, personally.

Print, Evie Seo - EST $8

Another item by Evie Seo, woah! This time it's a print featuring a quote from The Aeneid by Virgil: "If I cannot move heaven, I will raise hell." I love this print. Another one going straight up on the wall!

Maleficent Candle, Meraki Candles - EST $4

The label on this candle is gorgeous, isn't it? I was very excited for it! But unfortunately, the lid refuses to come off. No amount of prying, heating, and jackhammering will get the lid off, unfortunately. I've reached out to Fairyloot's customer service and am waiting to hear back on whether I can get a replacement. Otherwise, this item has zero value to me.

Bonus Print 

Another promotional item! This is a print from Laini Taylor's new book, Night of Cake and Puppets. I unfortunately haven't read the series, so I have no idea what it's referring to... but I certainly appreciate the art!

SAM_2526.JPG

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, by Julie C. Dao - $12.89

Aaaaaaaand the book of the month is the amazing Forest of a Thousand Lanterns! I've been looking forward to this book all year and you can bet that I'll be posting a review soon. The book came with an author note and lovely signed bookplate. Take a look at the Goodreads summary below!

GOODREADS SUMMARY:

The Wrath and the Dawn meets Snow White and the Huntsman in this dark and mystical East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend about one peasant girl's quest to become Empress. 
Eighteen-year-old Xifeng is beautiful. The stars say she is destined for greatness, that she is meant to be Empress of Feng Lu. But only if she embraces the darkness within her. 
Growing up as a peasant in a forgotten village on the edge of the map, Xifeng longs to fulfill the destiny promised to her by her cruel aunt, the witch Guma, who has read the cards and seen glimmers of Xifeng's majestic future. But is the price of the throne too high? Because in order to achieve greatness, she must spurn the young man who loves her and exploit the callous magic that runs through her veins--sorcery fueled by eating the hearts of the recently killed. For the god who has sent her on this journey will not be satisfied until his power is absolute. 
Set in an East Asian-inspired fantasy world filled with both breathtaking pain and beauty, Forest of a Thousand Lanterns possesses all the hallmarks of masterful fantasy: dazzling magic, heartbreaking romance, and a world that hangs in the balance. Fans of HeartlessStealing Snow, and Red Queen will devour this stunning debut. 

I paid roughly $52 for the Fairyloot box including shipping. The total value of the October Villainous box is $56.20. It meets the mark, if barely, because of the added copy of The Language of Thorns. I think some folks may be disappointed by the bookish items in the box, but the value of having two (finished copies!) books in the box outweighs that disappointment, I think!

Screen Shot 2017-10-13 at 10.34.11 PM.png