Book Reviews | Fantasy

The Crowns of Croswald: Review

July 21, 2017

Happy release day to The Crowns of Croswald by D.E. Night! This is the perfect book for fans of Harry Potter, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, The Paper Magician, or a good old Cinderella story. I’m so excited to see what you will all think of this fantastical adventure! Read on for my spoiler-free thoughts and a summary of the book below!

Goodreads Summary:

In Croswald, the only thing more powerful than dark magic is one secret…

For sixteen years Ivy Lovely has been hidden behind an enchanted boundary that separates the mundane from the magical. When Ivy crosses the border, her powers awaken. Curiosity leads her crashing through a series of adventures at the Halls of Ivy, a school where students learn to master their magical blood and the power of Croswald’s mysterious gems. When Ivy’s magic––and her life––is threatened by the Dark Queen, she scrambles to unearth her history and save Croswald before the truth is swept away forever.


SAM_2309
Disclaimer: I received an ARC of The Crowns of Croswald. All opinions in this article are my own.

I received a gorgeous kit from JKS Communications that was filled to the brim with interesting goodies and a beautiful paperback copy of The Crowns of Croswald. The glowing glass bottle is a magical contraption called a glanagerie, used in a class at the Halls of Ivy. It was very cool to a see physical representation of what this tool might look like! Of course, the opinions in this review are entirely my own.

SAM_2314

The world that D.E. Night creates is so whimsical, filled with unique creatures and a magic system of its own. It combines some of my favorite things: book nerds, princesses with magical crowns, and a prep school environment. The book is vividly descriptive and has a distinct tone, which was really refreshing, coming from a debut author.

Ivy was a likable protagonist, She’s smart, quick on her feet, and determined. I enjoyed that the relationships built throughout the book were focused on friendship, rather than romance. There’s a bigger conflict at play, people!

The one caveat I will give is that this book is geared towards a younger audience. Some of the plot points might seem predictable, some of the character portraits too simple. However, The Crowns of Croswald is a fun and sweet read that’s sure to tickle your fancy!

I rate The Crowns of Croswald 4/5 stars!

Read on,

Screen Shot 2017-03-09 at 10.01.38 AM